The Best Of Sony World Photography Awards 2015

The Best Of 2015 Sony World Photography Awards

About the Awards:

The Sony World Photography Awards are the world’s biggest photography competition and its aim is simple: to recognize and reward the best contemporary photography in the world.

The awards have brought untold reward and recognition to those involved and each year offers an incredible $30,000 (USD) in cash prizes plus the latest Sony digital imaging equipment.

Free to enter, photographers of all abilities are invited to submit either their best single shots or series of work.  The images are judged by the World Photographic Organization and a specially selected jury from the World Photographic Academy, which is made up on the photographic industry’s most esteemed individuals.

The awards offer an unparalleled opportunity for exposure for photographers at all stages of their career and are known worldwide by industry leaders.

The annual awards gala and ceremony takes place in London, welcoming an international attendance of industry leaders to celebrate the recognition of the best in contemporary photography and each year also pays tribute to one of our masters with the Outstanding Contribution to Photography Award. Supporting the celebration is an exhibition of the winners and shortlist, comprising of hundreds of photographs expertly curated inside the historic London landmark, Somerset House.


The Competitions: 

The Sony World Photography Awards 2015 have five competitions:

  • Professional – 15 categories, judged on a series of images, aimed at serious photographers
  • Open – 10 categories, judged on a single image, open to all)
  • Youth – 3 categories, for photographers aged 19 and under Student Focus – for those studying photography)
  • Mobile Phone – for images taken with any mobile phone

In addition, it runs the National Awards program in 47 countries, looking to find the best single shot taken by a photographer from that country.

The awards offer categories across all genres of photojournalism, fine art and commercial photography.  The categories include: current affairs; nature & wildlife; arts & culture, portraiture; contemporary issues; sport; landscape; still life; lifestyle; architecture, and more.

The 2015 edition attracted over 173,000 entries from 171 countries and winners will be announced on 23 April.  In addition to cash prizes for the overall Professional and Open Photographers of the Year category, winners also receive the latest digital imaging equipment from Sony and Sony Mobile.



















More from

If you like the shocking expressions, have some crazy ideas which can shock you and force you to make expression like this. See the Crazy Gift Ideas –Special products to surprise your special ones

Here at, knowing that our precious time together on Earth is waaay too short for a long feed, we bring you the best of the best, like this special briff about the shock. If you want to get more posts like this, click like on the Facebook

Like it ? Share it !